9 Dec 2016

Indigenous satellites placed successfully in orbit

India presently has 38 indigenously manufactured satellites operational in orbit. It comprises of 12 Earth observation satellites (RESOURCESAT-1 & 2, CARTOSAT-1 & 2, CARTOSAT-2S [3 nos.], RISAT-1, OCEANSAT-2, MEGHA-TROPIQUES, SARAL & SCATSAT-1); 4 Meteorological satellites (INSAT-3D, KALPANA, INSAT-3A & INSAT-3DR); 13 communication satellites (INSAT-3C, 4A, 4B, 4CR, GSAT-6, 7, 8, 10, 12, 14, 15, 16 & 18), 7 navigational satellites (IRNSS-1A to 1G) and 2 Space Science satellites (Mars Orbiter Mission & ASTROSAT).

Since January 2011, none of the satellites got destroyed before being placed in the desired orbit.

The satellites are designed in such a way that it will not allow any information to be accessed or used without the knowledge of ISRO.
As on date, 29 satellites have been launched from outside the country. Out of these, for 3 satellites (Aryabhatta, Bhaskara-1 & Bhaskara-2), free launch was provided by Russia as part of Indo-Soviet friendship and for 1 satellite (Apple), Ariane offered a free launch in their developmental flight. Remaining satellites were launched by hiring launch services on a commercial basis.

This information was provided by the Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) Development of North-Eastern Region (DoNER), MoS PMO, Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions, Atomic Energy and Space, Dr Jitendra Singh in written reply to a question in Rajya Sabha today.
Source - PIB

Follow by Email