By-Election 2017: BJP Wins 3 Of 10 Assembly Seats In 8 States, Leads In 3 – 10 Points

April 13, 2017, 12:51 PM

NEW DELHI:  In by-elections held for 10 assembly seats in eight states, the BJP has won three and is leading in three. Three of these were held by other parties, including Delhi’s Rajouri Garden, where last time’s winner Aam Aadmi Party is set to lose its deposit ahead of key civic elections. In Karnataka, the Congress is ahead in both Nanjangud and Gundlupet, seats it held. In Jammu and Kashmir’s Srinagar, where fresh elections were ordered in 38 polling booths after violence on Sunday, only 0.7 per cent voters had turned up for voting.
Here’s are the 10 latest developments:
  1. As the trends indicated big win for the BJP and a massive loss for the ruling AAP, Delhi’ Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia said, “need to revisit people connect.” West Delhi’s Rajouri Garden seat fell vacant early this year after AAP’s Jarnail Singh quit as legislator to contest Punjab Assembly polls.
  2. Congress’ Delhi chief Ajay Maken, who is a voter in Rajouri Garden, has said the by-polls will be a “referendum” of Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal’s work in the last two years. He had swept the Delhi elections in 2015, winning 67 of the 70 seats.
  3. In Karnataka, where the Congress is ahead in the by-polls for Nanjangud and Gundlupet assembly seats, BJP’s BS Yeddyurappa has said they “bow their heads and accept the verdict of the people”. While the results would not affect the stability of the Congress government, the elections were key for both the ruling Congress and the BJP to assess their voter-base for the assembly elections of 2018.
  4. Nanjangud is in Chief Minister Siddaramaiah’s home district of Mysuru and it is crucial for him to retain the seat. His close aide-turned-rival V Srinivas Prasad, who held the seat earlier, joined the BJP after he was dropped as minister and contested as the BJP candidate. The Congress’ Kalale Keshavamurthy is leading in the seat.
  5. Continuing its winning streak, BJP’s Ranoj Pegu beat his nearest rival Babul Sonowal of the Congress by over 9,000 votes to win Dhemaji by-poll assembly seat in Assam.
  6. In Himachal Pradesh, BJP’s Anil Dhima has win from Bhoranj seat by a margin over 8,000 votes.
  7. The BJP is also leading in both Ater and Bandhavgarh in Madhya Pradesh. The elections in the state were held amid controversy over an EVM demonstration video.
  8. In Dholpur Assembly constituency in Rajasthan, home turf of Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje, the ruling BJP is confident of win. Shobha Rani Kushavah is leading with a comfortable margin.
  9. In West Bengal’s Kanthi Dakshin seat, Trinamool Congress candidate Chandrima Bhattacharya is leading. The by-poll had been necessitated after Trinamool legislators Dibyendu Adhikari was elected to Lok Sabha from Tamluk seat.
  10. In Srinagar, where the by-polls on April 9 saw a voter turnout of only 0.7 per cent, lowest in nearly three decades, re-election in 38 polling stations across the parliamentary constituency is being held today. Election Commission had ordered re-polling after eight civilians were killed and about 100 security personnel were injured in violence on the polling day.

Source – NDTV


This entry was posted in Political, Misc News